I’m back again with some screenshots from my material setup in Unreal Engine, the character is finally starting to get finished. I tweaked the armor material and lowered the effect from my metallic map by increasing the roughness map with constant values.

unrealrender3

Trying out a HDR image of a forest, go grab some awesome HDR images for free on this page: http://www.hdrlabs.com/sibl/archive.html

unrealrender2

Another shot from the other side, trying all sorts of angles

unrealrender6

A winter variation to the forest background

unrealrender4

The specular map is doing its job well, not much more to tweak here for the moment

connectingmaterials

Tweaking back and forth with the specular and roughness map

unrealrender5

My goal with this material setup for the skin is to successfully render some smaller form of subsurface scattering, which will make it a bit more transparent and let the light pass through it. That’s what I’m going to work on this week, along with finishing all the textures. Other than that, I think it’s good to go. Until next time, have a good one 🙂

