After last night’s preparation work, I finished the Jedi Rig today and got to learn how to use blendshapes as an added bonus. All of this is a whole new world for me, but it’s exciting.

Blendshapes

Blendshapes have always been something I imagined to be troublesome, but it was surprisingly fun to make all the different expressions for the Jedi. With that said, I haven’t encountered any greater problem so far when implementing them in the rig. From here, I can probably start making driven keys and hide them later on.

JediProgress

The driven keys will come in handy, because tomorrow I will be learning how to create a switching system between inverse kinematic and forward kinematic controls. It will give the animator more control over the character’s motions and help them work in different scenarios.

